Who was the first governor in India?

Who was first governor?

In accordance with the provisions of the Regulating Act of 1773, Warren Hastings became the first governor-general.

Who was the first and last governor-general of India?

Louis Mountbatten, Earl Mountbatten of Burma became governor-general and oversaw the transition of British India to independence. Chakravarti Rajagopalachari (1878-1972) became the only Indian and last governor-general after independence.

Who was the first governor of RBI?

Sir Osborne Smith was the first Governor of the Reserve Bank. A professional banker, he served for over 20 years with the Bank of New South Wales and 10 years with the Commonwealth Bank of Australia before coming to India in 1926 as a Managing Governor of the Imperial Bank of India.

What is an Indian governor called?

Synonyms, crossword answers and other related words for INDIAN GOVERNOR [nawab]

Who is the first lady governor?


S. No. Name From
1 Sarojini Naidu 15 August 1947
2 Padmaja Naidu 3 November 1956
3 Vijayalakshmi Pandit 28 November 1962
4 Sharda Mukherjee 5 May 1977

Who was the 4th Governor General of India?

List of governors-general

Name (Birth–Death) Term of office
Appointed by Court of Directors of the East India Company
The Earl Amherst (1773–1857) 1 August 1823 13 March 1828
William Butterworth Bayley (acting) (1782–1860) 13 March 1828 4 July 1828
Governors-General of India, 1833–1858
IT IS INTERESTING:  Your question: Can we write something on Indian flag?

Who was the best governor general of India?

Top 10 Governor-Generals of India and their Roles

  • Lord Amherst, 1823-1828: …
  • Lord William Bentinck, 1828-1835: …
  • Charles Metcalfe, 1835-1836: …
  • Lord Auckland, 1836-42: …
  • Lord Ellenborough, 1842-44: …
  • Ranjit Singh: …
  • Lord Hardinge, 1844-48:

Who is the SBI Governor?

SBI chairmen list

No. Officeholder Term end
23 Pratip Chaudhuri 30 September 2013
24 Arundhati Bhattacharya 6 October 2017
25 Rajnish Kumar 6 October 2020
26 Dinesh Kumar Khara Incumbent

Are governors IAS officers?

However, the rank is present only in the union territories of Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Ladakh, Jammu and Kashmir, Delhi and Puducherry (the other territories have an administrator appointed, who is usually an IAS officer or IPS officer or a retired judge of a court ).