Which is not a seaport of India?

Complete answer: The diamond harbour is not a seaport. – Paradeep Port: It is a natural, deep- water port situated on the East coast of India present in Jagatsinghpur district of Odisha.

How many seaport are there in India?

There are currently 13 major seaports in India, out of which 12 are operated under the government of India while one is run by a corporation (Ennore Port).

Which is a seaport of India?

India has 13 major ports viz. Kolkata Port, Paradip Port, New Mangalore Port, Cochin Port, Jawaharlal Nehru Port, Mumbai Port, Kandla Port, Vishakhapatnam Port, Chennai Port, Tuticorin port, Ennore Port, Mormugao Port and Port Blair Port.

Which of the following is are not a natural seaport?

Solution(By Examveda Team)

Chennai Port is an artificial deep seaport as it has been prepared artificially by cutting crust of continental shelf lying under shallow sea zone.

Which is the largest seaport in India?

Mumbai Port, Maharashtra

IT IS INTERESTING:  Who was known as famous artist of India?

In operation since 1873, Mumbai Port is India’s second oldest port (Kolkata being the oldest). It is also India’s largest port by size, spread over a 46.3-hectare area with a pier length touching 8,000 km.

How many seaports are there in Chennai?

The same is under consideration of Government. The state of Tamil Nadu has the natural coast line to a length of 992 km, on which there are three major ports and fifteen minor ports situated.

How many ports are there in Mumbai?

The two key ports – Mumbai Port Trust (MbPT), which was set up in the 17th century, and Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust (JNPT), the relatively new Port – collectively account for 22 per cent of the total traffic handled at 13 major ports across the country.

Which is the 13th port of India?

The Union Cabinet on Wednesday approved the setting up of the country’s 13th major port at Vadhavan in Maharashtra at a total cost of Rs 65,544.54 crore. The Vadhavan port will be developed on “landlord model” (where infrastructure is leased to private firms or industries and chemical plants).

What is the name of Mumbai port?

Mumbai Port Trust (also known as the Bombay Port Trust) is a port which lies midway on the West coast of India, on the natural deep-water harbour of Mumbai (Bombay) in Maharashtra.

Is Visakhapatnam a natural port?

Visakhapatnam Port is one of 13 major ports in India and the only major port of Andhra Pradesh. It is a natural port endowed with deepwater basins formed by a high promontory into the sea, known as Dolphin’s Nose Hill to the south and Ross Hill to the North of the entrance channel.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Which is the cheapest AC in India?

Which of the following major sea ports of India does not have natural harbour?

Chennai Port does not possess a natural harbor because it has neither a rugged sea cost nor any river that makes a mouth here. The Kolkata port is the fourth busiest in India, located in West Bengal.

Which is the main seaport of the state of Goa?

Mormugao is a seaport city situated in the eponymous Mormugao taluka (municipality) of the South district, in the Goa state, India. It has a deep natural harbour and remains Goa’s chief port.

What is port Name any two ports?

Facts about Major ports in India

S.No Name of the Port State
1. Kandla Gujarat
2. Paradip Odisha
3. JNPT Maharashtra
4. Mumbai Maharashtra

How many ports are there in Gujarat?

The state has 42 ports which include 1 major port and 41 non-major ports which are geographically dispersed across south Gujarat, Saurashtra and Kutchch region.

What is a major port?

Major Ports are defined in Section 3(8) of the Indian Ports Act 1908 to mean any port which the Central Government may by notification in the Official Gazette declare, or may under any law for the time being in force have declared, to be a major port.